Bridgend community hero recognised for 20 years’ service at national volunteer awards

Jill Goudge from Bridgend was recognised at the annual Civil Service Sports Council (CSSC) Awards at a ceremony in London on Friday afternoon picking up the John Whittaker Fellowship Award which is CSSC’s most prestigious award for volunteering.

CSSC is a leading organisation for promoting sports, health, and well-being within the UK Civil Service and public sector. The awards now in their 46th year, exist to recognise and reward the devotion and hard work which members and volunteers across CSSC show throughout the year.  Nominees represent individuals that have shown exceptional dedication and strength through their service.


Jill has been a CSSC Volunteer since the early 2000’s, when she joined the Bridgend committee. Over the last 20 years, she has been an advocate for, finding, and mentoring new volunteers in Wales, especially seeing and spotting the talent in her local office and providing young people with the opportunity to volunteer to enhance their career prospects.

Described by her peers as ‘the beating heart of CSSC in Wales’ Jill was instrumental in merging the Bridgend & St Athan area association in the mid 2000’s. For several years Jill has supported the Aberystwyth area association, making sure that they had an experienced volunteer to lean on someone that they could go to for advice and guidance.


Matt Bazeley OBE, chief executive of CSSC, said: “For over 100 years we’ve supported the health and wellbeing of life’s true champions in the civil service and public sector. Organising and running a whole host of different and varied activities and events for members is essential to our mission and we wouldn’t be able to do what we do without the amazing group of people giving up their time across the country. A huge congratulations to all of the winners and finalists whose commitment to their communities has been recognised at this year’s awards.“


Individuals shortlisted for awards were nominated by other members of CSSC and selected by the leadership team in their respective category. These awards included the Russell Scott Award for Area Association of the Year, the Hayward Trophy for Sports and Representatives Bodies (SRB) of the year, the Lord Turnbull Award for Volunteer of the Year, and the John Whittaker Fellowship Award. Other categories included the Innovation, Sports, Wellbeing, Newcomer, and Merit Awards.


To find out more about CSSC and whether you are eligible for a membership, please visit: